Eye on Houston: High School Documentary Photography 

January 16–August 11, 2019

The 24th edition of Eye on Houston: High School Documentary Photography opens today, January 16, at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston. The annual photography exhibition is a collaboration between the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, and area high schools to document and celebrate Houston’s diverse neighborhoods. The exhibition will remain on view through Sunday, August 11.

Eye on Houston invites students to offer a glimpse into their daily lives, experiences, and personal stories. Each generation witnesses Houston through new eyes, seeing and experiencing a fresh incarnation of the city. Utilizing photography as a tool, these student photographers document their perspectives. This year, nine high schools in the Houston Independent School District were invited to participate, and the Museum received more than 700 submissions from across the Houston area. Chosen for this year’s exhibition were 93 photographs by sophomore, junior, and senior students. The diversity of and connections between these areas are showcased through images that explore themes of Movement, City as Subject, Graffiti, Cultures, Family, and Growing Up. Participating students are from Austin High School, Bellaire High School, Carnegie Vanguard High School, DeBakey High School for Health Professions, Eastwood Academy, Jack Yates High School, Secondary DAEP, Westbury High School, and Westside High School.

The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston
Kinder Foundation Education Center & Museum Visitors Center Corridor 
1001 Bissonnet Street & 5600 Fannin Street

Organization & Funding
The exhibition Eye on Houston: High School Documentary Photography receives generous funding from the CFP Foundation and the Junior League of Houston, Inc.

All Learning and Interpretation programs at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, receive endowment funds provided by Louise Jarrett Moran Bequest; Caroline Wiess Law; the William Randolph Hearst Foundation; Cyvia and Melvyn Wolff; the National Endowment for the Humanities; the Fondren Foundation; BMC Software, Inc.; the Wallace Foundation; the Neal Myers and Ken Black Children’s Art Fund; Mr. and Mrs. A. L. Ballard; Mr. and Mrs. Charles W. Tate; the Eleanor and Frank Freed Foundation; Virginia and Ira Jackson; the Favrot Fund; Neiman Marcus Youth Arts Education; gifts in memory of John Wynne; and gifts in honor of Beth Schneider.

Participating Students
A’Deja Evans; Alejandra Hernandez Velazquez; Amy’a Dupree, Annie Martinez; Aria D’Amico; Ashley Blanco; Cindy Nguyen; Cindy Zhuang; Daisi Rivera; Daniela Huerta; Deiveon Edwards; Denisse Ordonez; Dharma Lopez; Dimitry Didyk; Eduardo Hernandez; Emily Goll-Broyles; Emory Irvine; Evelyn Alvarado; Fernando Cejudo; Giovanna Gonzalez; Isabel Lan; Isaiah Aponte; Jacqueline Trejo; Jamie DesRochers; Jane Skjonsby; Janice Liang; Jazlyn Rizo; Jennifer Li; Jodi Rodriguez; Jonathan Hernandez; Jose Zuniga, Jr.; Karen Quintana; Kiara Menjivar; Laura Romero Gamez; Leslie Alvarez; Lewis Man; Liana Salehian; Litzy Martinez; Lucero Aguillon; Luz Martinez Chica; Maddie Benzuly; Marisol Saucedo; Mckenzie Stanley; Monserrat Ledezma; Muhammad Furqan; Muskan Manzoor; Mya Turner; Natalie Rodriguez; Nevaeh Richardson; Paula Diaz Linares; Pedro A. Moctezuma; Perla Vega; Rachel Del Huerto; Rebeca Rodriguez; Rex Zhao; Riley Johnston; Sarah Alvarado; Savannah Adamson; Scout Sustala; Shane Woodard; Sophia Swanston; Stephanie Zuniga; Tooba Qureshi; Vanessa Gonzalez Torres; Veronica Sandoval; Victor Loza; Wendy Garcia; Yzette Torres; and Zayit Barios.

Media Contact
Katie Jernigan, publicist
713.639.7516 / kjernigan@mfah.org

General Media Inquiries

MFAH Press Office
press@mfah.org 713.800.5362