Core events are added periodically, so check back for updates!
Send an e-mail to webeditor@mfah.org to be added to the Core mailing list. 

“2017 Core Exhibition” & Related Events


2017 Core Exhibition
March 17–April 22

Work by the Core Program’s 2016–17 artists-in-residence.
Held at Lawndale Art Center, 4912 Main Street

Related Events
All events are free and open to the public.

  • Core Lecture: Fia Backström  • Rescheduled from April 6
    Thursday, April 6, 7 p.m. / MFAH Brown Auditorium Theater
  • Performance: Fia Backström
    Saturday, April 4, 6–8 p.m. / Lawndale Art Center 
    Core critic-in-residence Taraneh Fazeli presents a performance by Fia Backström.
  • Film Screening: Core Artists-in-Residence
  • Tuesday, April 11, 7 p.m. / MFAH Brown Auditorium Theater
  • Presentation: Ruslana Lichtzier
    Saturday, April 15, 4 p.m. / Lawndale Art Center, third-floor classroom
    Core critical-studies resident Ruslana Lichtzier presents “five missing objects.”
  • Film Screening: Jen Liu & Sondra Perry 
    Saturday, April 22, 2–5 p.m. / Lawndale Art Center
    Core critic-in-residence Taraneh Fazeli presents work by Jen Liu and Core artist-in-residence Sondra Perry.
  • Core Lecture: Hannah Feldman 
    Thursday, April 27, 7 p.m. / MFAH Brown Auditorium Theater
  • Related Exhibition: One Stone and the Rain 
    March 17–April 22 / Project Space at Lawndale Art Center, third floor 
    Work by Core critic-in-residence Laura A. L. Wellen.

2016–17 Lectures

Core Program lectures are open to the public. Admission is free.
All lectures take place in the American General Conference Room, mezzanine level, Audrey Jones Beck Building

Thursday, September 29, 7 p.m.
Speaker: Charles Gaines, artist

Thursday, October 6, 7 p.m.
Speaker: Catherine Morris, Sackler Family Curator, Elizabeth A. Sackler Center for Feminist Art, Brooklyn Museum

Thursday, October 27, 7 p.m.
Speaker: Wendy Vogel, writer and curator

Friday, November 18, 7 p.m.
Speaker: Lauren Berlant, writer and George M. Pullman Distinguished Service Professor, department of English, University of Chicago

Friday, January 27, 7 p.m.
Speaker: Sreshta Rit Premnath, artist and assistant professor, Parsons School of Design

Thursday, February 9, 7 p.m.
Speaker: Martha Rosler, artist

Friday, April 7, 7 p.m. • Rescheduled from April 6
Speaker: Fia Backström, artist and educator

Thursday, April 27, 7 p.m.
Speaker: Hannah Feldman, associate professor of art history, Northwestern University

In This Section