To honor Bayou Bend’s founding director emeritus and his passion for American material culture, the MFAH established the David B. Warren Symposium, presented biennially since 2007. Each symposium develops a different aspect of the overall theme of American material culture and the Texas experience. The 2019 theme is “A Diverse History: Texas, the Lower South, and the Southwest before 1900.”

Friday Agenda

  • Keynote Address | 6:30 p.m. Brown Auditorium Theater, MFAH 
    “CIRCA 1718: Five Who Shaped Viceregal Texas”
    Speaker: Marion Oettinger, curator emeritus, Latin American art, San Antonio Museum of Art
  • Reception | Following the keynote address

Saturday Agenda

  • Welcome & Opening Remarks 9:30 a.m. Brown Auditorium Theater, MFAH 
  • Morning Presentations Brown Auditorium Theater, MFAH
    ♦ “House-Proud in Texas: The Struggle for a Proper Frontier Home” Speaker: Evelyn Montgomery, director of curatorial affairs, Dallas Heritage Village
    ♦ “Haciendas, Homes, and Household Furnishings in Spanish Colonial New Mexico” Speaker: Donna Pierce, Frederick and Jan Mayer curator of Spanish Colonial Art, Denver Art Museum
  • Lunch Box lunch included in registration free
  • Afternoon Presentations Brown Auditorium Theater, MFAH
    ♦ “How Environment and Technological Style Shaped Material Culture in Prehistory” Speaker: Harry J. Shafer, archaeologist and professor emeritus, Texas A&M University
    ♦ “Contested Cultures: Native Dress in Spanish and Mexican Texas” Speaker: Mark Goldberg, associate professor, department of history, University of Houston
    ♦ “A Confederate Inkstand in England: Pro-Confederate Cotton Elites in Liverpool” Speakers: Marjorie Denise Brown, instructor, department of history, Houston Community College & Teresa R. Jach, instructor, department of history, Houston Community College Northwest
  • Reception | 4:30 p.m. Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens

Questions? Contact

The David B. Warren Symposium is made possible with generous support from The David B. Warren Endowment; Humanities Texas, the State affiliate of the National Endowment for the Humanities; Nancy Glanville Jewell; Marilyn G. Lummis; John L. Nau III; and The Summerlee Foundation.