About the Studio School

Sign up for our e-mail list today to stay up to date with the latest news.

The Glassell School of Art Studio School offers courses in art history and studio arts for adults, ages 18 and older. Studio courses and workshops are available in a variety of media, including painting, watercolor, printmaking, photography, ceramics, sculpture, and jewelry. Students at the Glassell School of Art are diverse in background and skill levels. Classes may be taken at the student’s leisure or as part of a more in-depth study through the Certificate of Achievement program. Additionally, many courses may be taken for undergraduate credit as part of the University of St. Thomas’s Bachelor of Fine Arts program. For more details on the Certificate of Achievement program and the University of St. Thomas BFA program, contact the Studio School Registrar.

In addition to a rigorous curriculum, the Studio School offers a variety of student programming, including a rotating schedule of exhibitions featuring current student and alumni works, as well as changing exhibitions of contemporary works by professional artists in the Laura Lee Blanton Gallery; lectures in the Frank Freed Auditorium; and a variety of events offered through the Student/Alumni Organization.

Free parking is available in front of the school at 5101 Montrose Blvd. (entrances on Montrose and Bartlett). See more information about parking at the Glassell Studio School and the MFAH.

The Glassell School of Art receives generous funding from the Albert and Margaret Alkek Foundation / Margaret Alkek Williams; The Glassell Family; Leslie and Brad Bucher; Mr. William J. Hill; Rania and Jamal Daniel; Texas Commission on the Arts; Mr. and Mrs. John S. Orton; Bettie Cartwright; Barbara and Michael Gamson; Kathrine G. McGovern; Dr. and Mrs. Lee Winderman; Mrs. Jereann H. Chaney; Mr. and Mrs. B. Walter Crain III; Ms. Sara Paschall Dodd; Cherie and Jim Flores; Mr. and Mrs. Jacque H. Passino; Mr. and Mrs. T.R. Reckling III; Mr. and Mrs. Shannon B. Sasser; Paul A. Van Hook; Adrienne and Tim Unger; Karen and John E. Bradshaw, Sr.; Samuel F. Gorman; Mary Catherine Blanton; Diana and Steve Brown; Sue and Rusty Burnett; Clare Casademont and Michael Metz; Susan and David Fine; Demetre P. Grivas; Mr. and Mrs. George A. Hawkins; Kerry F. Inman and Denby Auble; Mr. and Mrs. Meredith J. Long; Mr. and Mrs. William K. Matthews III; Elisabeth and Brian McCabe; Gwen and John McCauley; Mr. and Mrs. Scott McCool; Rick and Nancy Rome; Pauline and Stephen Smith; Virginia and Daniel Steppe; Mrs. Dorothy C. Sumner; and Vallette and Russell Windham.


Amy Blakemore

Department Head, Photography
MFA, University of Texas; BS, BA, Drury College

Charlotte Cosgrove

MFA, University of Pennsylvania; BA, Pennsylvania State University

Sharon Dennard

BA, University of Houston

Jeff Forster

Department Head, Ceramics
MFA, Southern Illinois University; BA, St. John’s University

J. Hill

Department Head, Sculpture/Foundry
MFA, BA, Stephen F. Austin State University

Stephanie Martz

MFA, California Institute of the Arts; BFA, Art Center College of Design

David Medina

MFA, University of Houston; BFA, Fort Lewis College

Brian Portman

BFA, Rhode Island School of Design

Arthur Turner

MFA, Cranbrook Academy of Art; BA, North Texas

Ken Mazzu

MFA, University of Houston; BFA, Lamar University

Janet Hassinger

MFA, Stephen F. Austin State University; MA, New York University; BFA, Boston University

Sandra Zilker

Studio School Exhibitions Coordinator & Department Head, Jewelry and Enameling
MFA, Cranbrook Academy of Art; BFA, University of Houston

Robert Ruello

MFA, Columbia University; BFA, The Art Institute of Chicago; Loyola University

Kia Niell

MFA, University of California; BFA, Columbus College of Art and Design

Suzanne Manns

Department Head, Works on Paper
BFA, Carnegie-Mellon University; Rhode Island School of Design; Atelier Garrigues, France

Arielle Masson

MFA, University of Houston; MA,BA  La Sorbonne, France; École des Arts d'Uccle, Brussels, Belgium.

Francesca Fuchs

Department Head, Painting
MA, Kunst Academie, Germany; BA, Wimbledon School of Art, Great Britain; BA, Bristol University, Great Britain

Lydia Bodnar-Balahutrak

MFA, George Washington University; BS, Kent State University; the Corcoran School of Art

Will Michels

BArch, Pratt Institute

Patrick Palmer

Studio School Faculty Chair/Dean
MFA, Arizona State University; BA, University of California

Jan Harrell

MFA, University of Houston; BFA, Texas Tech University

Nathan Dube

MFA, Kent State; BFA, University of Texas

Mark Ponder

MFA, Southern Illinois University; BFA, Lamar University

Anna Tahinci

Department Head, Art History

PhD, MA, University of Paris I, Panthéon-Sorbonne; Special Degree in Museum Studies, Ecole du Louvre; BA, MA, University of Paris X, Nanterre; BA, MA, University of Paris IV, Sorbonne; MA, University of Athens