About the Junior School

The Glassell Junior School is the nation's only museum-affiliated school offering year-round art instruction for children ages 3 to 18. Classes are designed to accommodate children of all skill levels and interests. Courses range from drawing and painting, to video and animation, to ceramics and fashion design.

The Junior School maintains an active scholarship program and offers two annual scholarship events: a portfolio competition for all school-age children, and a sketching competition for students from age 10 to 12.

► Scholarship Opportunities

Junior School Facilities

Junior School classes and workshops are held in spacious, daylight-filled studios housed in a wing of the museum's Central Administration and Junior School Building, located at 5100 Montrose Boulevard. The Junior School has a covered drop-off door at the corner of Bayard Lane and Bartlett Street (entrance on Berthea Street).

The Junior School is also home to the Norma R. Ory Gallery, an inviting exhibition space that displays, throughout the year, works by Junior School students and faculty. In addition, the Junior School hosts student exhibitions from HISD and surrounding districts.


Annual Holiday Exhibition
November 16–December 31, 2015

This exhibition features artwork by Junior School students enrolled in the fall 2015 semester. Stop by the Norma R. Ory Gallery on the first and second floors of the Junior School to see all the wonderful 2-D and 3-D creations by these talented young artists. For more information, call 713.639.7700.

Gallery Hours
Monday–Friday, 9 a.m.–5 p.m.
Saturday, 9 a.m.–3 p.m.
Sunday, 12:30–4:30 p.m.

Thanks for your feedback!
“Gorgeous display of creativity. We really enjoyed it!”
—Gallien Family

“Great show! Very good artwork. It is so nice to see what kids are capable of doing.”
—Rubinstein Family

“Beautiful show and great young artists. . . . Well done!"
—Wallace Family

“We love the Glassell School.“
—The McClung-Hertz Family

“Very nice! Thank you for making the children feel like young artists!”

“What a lovely event! . . . Open house is a great way to prepare us for upcoming spring registration!”
—Lehto Family


Judi Burton
BFA, University of Houston

Jane French
BFA, San Francisco Art Institute,
MFA, University of Houston

David Fulton
BFA, Tyler School of Art, Temple University; 
Core Fellow, Glassell School of  Art

Judy Gaddis
BS, University of Houston;
BFA, University of Texas

Donna Garoh
BFA, Tyler School of Art,
Temple University

Vehishta Kaikobad
BA, University of Karachi, Pakistan

Elena Lopez-Poirot
MFA, University of Houston; 
BFA, University of Texas

Erin Joyce
BFA, Rhode Island School of Design

Jessica McMahon 
BFA, Pratt Institute

Maureen McNamara
MA, New York University;
BA, University of St. Thomas

Valerie Nevarez
AA, Houston Community College

Eduardo Ortiz
MFA, Savannah College of Art and Design;
M Ed., Columbia University;
BA, University of Houston

Mary Ellen Rouen
MFA, University of Houston-Clear Lake;
BA, University of Texas

J. Michael Stovall
BA, University of Arkansas

Michele Sturtevant
BA, University of St. Thomas

Susan Tadlock
MA, BFA, Stephen F. Austin State University

Bonnie Van Hook
MA, Hunter College; 
BA, College of New Rochelle

Rachelle Vasquez
BA, University of Houston

Richard Williams
MFA, BA, University of Houston;
San Jacinto College;
University of Maryland

Claudia Zopoaragon
AA, Ce-Art, Bogota, Colombia

The Glassell School of Art receives generous funding from The Glassell Family; Leslie and Brad Bucher; Mr. William J. Hill; Rania and Jamal Daniel; Texas Commission on the Arts; Kathrine G. McGovern; Mr. and Mrs. John S. Orton; Barbara and Michael Gamson; Mrs. Jereann H. Chaney; Mr. and Mrs. B. Walter Crain III; Ms. Sara Paschall Dodd; The Meyer Levy Charitable Foundation / Jean L. Karotkin; Ms. Beth Madison; Mr. and Mrs. Jacque H. Passino; Mr. and Mrs. Shannon B. Sasser; Paul A. Van Hook; Adrienne and Tim Unger; Samuel F. Gorman; Diana and Steve Brown; Sue and Rusty Burnett; Clare Casademont and Michael Metz; Mirtha T. Casimir; Susan and David Fine; Demetre P. Grivas; Mr. and Mrs. George A. Hawkins; Kerry F. Inman and Denby Auble; Mr. and Mrs. Meredith J. Long; Mr. and Mrs. William K. Matthews III; Elisabeth and Brian McCabe; Gwen and John McCauley; Mr. and Mrs. Scott McCool; Mrs. Henry K. Roos; Pauline and Stephen Smith; Virginia and Daniel Steppe; Mrs. Dorothy C. Sumner; Vallette and Russell Windham; and Michele and Robert Yekovich.