Sketching in the Museum Galleries


Participate in this informal program from 1 to 4 p.m. every Sunday and Monday holiday when the Museum is open!

Sharpen observation skills and have fun at the same time with sketching in the galleries. An MFAH teaching artist is on hand with paper, pencils, and clipboards to get you started. Look for signs in the main lobbies to tell you which gallery the Sketching Cart is located in that day.

This family program is free with general admission and open to adults, kids, couples—everyone's invited! Visit mfah.org/calendar for more.


Sketching along the Seine

In this special art-making activity inspired by Monet and the Seine: Impressions of a River, families are invited to sketch works of art in the European galleries and explore how the artist used natural light in his works of art.

  • Sunday, November 2, 1–4 p.m.
  • Sunday, November 9, 1–4 p.m.
  • Sunday, November 16, 1–4 p.m.
  • Sunday, November 23, 1–4 p.m.
  • Sunday, November 30, 1–4 p.m.
  • Sunday, December 7, 1–4 p.m.
  • Sunday, December 14, 1–4 p.m.
  • Sunday, December 21, 1–4 p.m.
  • Sunday, January 11, 1–4 p.m.
  • Sunday, January 18, 1–4 p.m.
  • Sunday, January 25, 1–4 p.m.