Skip to Content
< back to Calendar

Photo by Jasmina Wellinghoff

Artful Thursday “BEGIN / AGAIN”

Thursday, Apr 17, 2014
6:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.

Law Building, Lower Level
1001 Bissonnet Map & Directions


Presented by Rosemary Catacalos, 2013 Texas State Poet Laureate.

“Remember tonight . . . for it is the beginning of always.” ―Dante Alighieri

In celebration of National Poetry Month, the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, in partnership with Public Poetry, presents 2013 Texas State Poet Laureate Rosemary Catacalos in an evening of poetry and art from the Museum’s collection. This is a program of moving words and still images, memory that brings power to the future.

Catacalos’ work is profoundly tied to San Antonio and to the classical myths, folklore, family stories, and histories of her dual Greek and Mexican heritage. Her first full-length collection, Again for the First Time, was published in 1984 and received the Texas Institute of Letters poetry prize. It was recently reissued by Wings Press in a 30th-anniversary edition. A limited-edition fine press chapbook, Begin Here, also from Wings Press, was brought out to mark Catacalos’ laureateship.

Catacalos has received Stegner, Dobie Paisano, and National Endowment for the Arts fellowships, and her poems are widely collected in anthologies and textbooks, including two editions of Best American Poetry. A past visiting scholar at Stanford’s Institute for Research on Women and Gender, she is a former executive director of San Francisco’s Poetry Center and American Poetry Archives.

A reception to meet the poet and book signing follows the program.

Reserve your free ticket in advance! Use the "Get Tickets" button above and print at home; call 713.639.7771; or visit any MFAH admissions desk.

Promotional support generously provided by Houston Public Radio - KUHF 88.7 FM & Classical 91.7 FM.

Special thanks to Adept Word Management for transcription services.

All education programs at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, receive endowment income from funds provided by Caroline Wiess Law; The National Endowment for the Humanities; the William Randolph Hearst Foundation; the Fondren Foundation; BMC Software, Inc.; the Wallace Foundation; the Louise Jarrett Moran Bequest; the Neal Myers and Ken Black Children’s Art Fund; the Favrot Fund; and Gifts in honor of Beth Schneider.