Skip to Content
< back to Calendar

Clockwise, from left, all from the collections of the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston: Meade Brothers, Samuel Houston, 1851, daguerreotype, gift of Vinson & Elkins L.L.P. in honor of the firm’s 75th anniversary / Samuel Bell, Cup, c. 1854, silver, the Bayou Bend Collection, gift of Alice C. Simkins in memory of Alice and Mike Hogg / John Woodhouse Audubon, lithography by John T. Bowen, Texian Hare (Lepus Texianus), 1848, hand-colored lithograph, the Bayou Bend Collection, gift of Bennie Green in memory of her husband, Joe M. Green, Jr. / Thomas Flintoff, Catholic Church, Houston, Texas, 1852, watercolor on paper, the Bayou Bend Collection, gift of Cynthia and Anthony G. Petrello in honor of Carena Petrello / Conrad Caspar Rordorf , lithography by Friedrich Julius Tempeltey, Panorama Der Stadt Neu-Braunfels In Texas aufgenommen von der Südwestseite im Sommer 1847, 1851, lithograph, the Bayou Bend Collection, gift of Rose Cullen in honor of Harry H. Cullen, co-chairman of “One Great Night in November, 1998.”

The 4th Biennial David B. Warren Symposium: Keynote Address

Friday, Oct 25, 2013
6:30 p.m. - 8 p.m.

Law Building, Lower Level
1001 Bissonnet Map & Directions

The 4th Biennial David B. Warren Symposium on American Material Culture and the Texas Experience "Itinerant and Immigrant Artists and Artisans in 19th-Century Texas"

The keynote address covers the cultural aspects of itinerant and immigrant artists and artisans within the framework of 19th-century Texas and border history. Speaker: Ron Tyler, former director of the Amon Carter Museum of American Art. A reception follows.

This lecture is part of a weekend symposium; tickets are not sold separately. For a complete itinerary and more information, visit or call 713.639.7759.

As of July 1, the 2013 David Warren Symposium is generously supported by Humanities Texas, the state affiliate of the National Endowment for the Humanities; William J. Hill; Marilyn Lummis; Bobbie and John Nau; The Summerlee Foundation; the Texas Historical Foundation; Nancy Glanville Jewell; Friends of the Texas Governor’s Mansion; and Jane Karotkin.